What is Cricket World Cup and why is it very popular?

1612 views 4:30 pm 0 Comments December 30, 2021
icc cricket world cup

The Cricket World Cup is an international cricket tournament organized by the International Cricket Council. It is the fourth most-watched sporting event globally, after football’s FIFA World Cup, the Summer Olympics and the UEFA Euro cup.

The World Cup is the major tournament of cricket and is held after every four years. Two World Cups of cricket are ODIs and T20s, but the ODI World Cup is more famous than the first World Cup of cricket.

You will get all the information about it and the cricket World Cup winners list below. The Cricket World Cup is celebrated like a festival of sports in the cricket playing nations. This tournament has a huge fan following, and the craze of this tournament is unique and unmatchable.

More About Cricket World Cuphistory of cricket

The tournament is held every four years, and 16 teams play in 2 groups of 8 which then progress to the knockout stage. At the end of group stages, the top four teams advance to the semi-finals. The winners of the semi-finals play in a final which decides the champion.

This tournament is regarded as the World Cup, and the winners are awarded an ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy. . The first Cricket World Cup was held in England and Wales from 30 May to 11 June 1975, with Australia as the first champions of this competition.

Cricket is a very competitive sport, and thus it is tough for every team to register their slot in World Cups. So every cricket team plays the qualifier matches to reach the World Cup.

This is because the World Cup has only 16 slots, and thus the top sixteen teams of World Cup qualifiers match to participate in the World Cup. So the World Cup is the tournament of all the world best cricket teams. This is why it is so popular, and fans love to watch this tournament.

List Of World Cup Winners

As you know first ever proper tournament of the cricket World Cup was played in 1975. Since then the cricket has seen many World Cups and their winners. Several countries have shown their dominance in countries by performing extremely well in this tournament.  For those who do like the stats, here is the list of winners of the World Cup so far.

  • West Indies won the World Cup in 1975 against Australia
  • West Indies defeated England to win the World Cup again in 1979.
  • India in 1983 against West Indies
  • Australia in 1987 against England
  • Pakistan against England in 1992
  • Sri Lanka in 1996 against Australia
  • Australia in 1999 against Pakistan
  • Australia again in 2003 by defeating India
  • Australia again in 2007 by defeating Sri Lanka
  • India in 2011 against Sri Lanka
  • Australia won by defeating New Zealand in 2015
  • England in 2019 against New Zealand

Some Successful Teams Of The Cricketchampions teams

India is the most successful country with eleven titles, followed by Sri Lanka with eight and West Indies and Pakistan each having won six titles.

Australia holds the record for most consecutive wins: four out of the five years between the 2003 Cricket World Cup and 2007 Cricket World Cup.  The West Indies has won three back-to-back titles, while Pakistan became runners up twice during those same years. Sri Lanka, India and New Zealand have been runners up three times each.

The West Indies have been the most prosperous nation in the Twenty20 format, winning the inaugural ICC Twenty20 World Championship held in South Africa in 2007 and then retaining their title by defeating Australia during the 2010 ICC World Twenty20 held in the Caribbean.

In addition, they also won two ICC Intercontinental Cup premier events, one at home and another abroad. The West Indies have one of the best players in the world. This makes them the fabulous teams of cricket.

Why This Tournament Is Popular?

The fans of cricket from all around the world wait for this tournament to happen.  The craze of the World Cup is enormous in the world as it does not happen every year.

Another reason for fame is that it is a matter of pride for any country to bring a World Cup trophy to their country. Thus the fans of each participating country show their support and pride in showing up in large numbers in stadiums.

Cricket is a very entertaining and thrilling sport. People love to take some time off their stressful job to watch cricket for fun. They follow cricket very keenly and show their passion and love for cricket in every World Cup game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *